South Sudan — Flow Monitoring Dashboard (February 2021)




DTM South Sudan,
South Sudan
Period Covered
Feb 01 2021
Feb 28 2021
  • Flow Monitoring

DTM’s Flow Monitoring Registry (FMR) surveys people on the move at key transit points within South Sudan (SSD) and at its borders. It provides an insight into mobility trends, migration drivers and traveller profiles to inform programming by humanitarian and development partners and by the government, complementing DTM’s monitoring of COVID-19 mobility restrictions. In total, 22 Flow Monitoring Points (FMPs) were active in February 2021, surveying internal flows and cross-border travel with Uganda (UGA), the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Sudan (SDN), Ethiopia (ETH) and the Central African Republic (CAR). Nine FMPs were deactivated at the end of January in Raja (Raja Town, Delieba), Aweil North (Gokmachar), Juba (Juba Customs Bus Station, Nesitu Checkpoint), Kajo-Keji (Jale / Litoba, Kerwa), Ezo (Nabia Pai) and Aweil East (Warawara) Counties. Operations at Renk North Checkpoint remained suspended due to access issues. Outgoing flows to Ethiopia largely took place via alternative routes, avoiding the flow monitoring points in Pagak and Burebyei. Figures are only indicative of existing trends among respondents at the active FMPs since DTM does not have full coverage of cross-border or internal flows. Participation in the survey is voluntary and anonymous.

Please click here to access the dataset.