Round 3
Feb 29 2016
IDP Population

Heavy seasonal rains caused widespread flooding in Myanmar at the end of June 2015 with the most affected areas being Chin and Rakhine States, Sagaing, Ayeyarwaddy, and Magway Regions. Early on 30 July, 2015 a cyclonic storm named as Komen impacted much of Myanmar with torrential rains, causing additional flooding and displacement. As the situation continued to evolve, on 31 July 2015, the President of the Union of Myanmar issued a statement declaring natural disaster zones in Chin and Rakhine States and in the Sagaing and Magway Regions, stating the following regions which are hugely affected by natural disasters and have challenges for rapid restoration to normality, are announced as natural disaster zones (1) Chin State, (2) Sagaing Region, (3) Magway Region and (4) Rakhine State.