East And Horn of Africa - Regional Snapshot (January - December 2023)




DTM Regional Office Nairobi, DTMRONairobi@iom.int
Period Covered
Jan 01 2023
Dec 31 2023
  • Other
  • Survey
  • Registration
  • Flow Monitoring
  • Mobility Tracking

As of December 2023, the Displacement Tracking Matrix (DTM) in the East and Horn of Africa was active in seven countries (Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda), and its methodology includes four main components (mobility tracking, flow monitoring, registrations and surveys).

Mobility tracking activities were conducted in Burundi (with periodic internal displacement and emergency monitoring dashboards), Ethiopia, (Round 17 of the national displacement report), Kenya (with assessments in Garissa, Isiolo, Marsabit, Samburu and Turkana), Somalia (2023 baseline assessment), South Sudan (Round 14) and Uganda (monthly multi-hazard response infographics nationwide).

Flow monitoring was operational in Djibouti, Ethiopia, Somalia (suspended in March and April), South Sudan (no longer active since
October) and Uganda (only active in January and February), through a network of 61 flow monitoring points (FMPs), with the main aim of tracking cross-border movement trends in the region and beyond. FMPs established at key areas of high mobility monitor different kinds of movements, including movements along the four main migration routes (Eastern, Horn of Africa, Southern and Northern) and other migration networks in the region such as in South Sudan and Uganda.